Bryant grad chosen for scholarship

LITTLE ROCK — Hannah Miller of Bryant has been chosen as one of the recipients of a[more] scholarship sponsored by the Arkansas Chapter of the Women of AT&T.

Miller is a 2012 graduate of Bryant High School who plans to attend the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville. She is the daughter of Phillip and Lori Miller.

The $500 scholarships are being awarded to female Arkansas students currently attending or planning to attend college and may be used for tuition, books, supplies, or other college-related expenses.

"Through the AT&T Foundation and various other programs, AT&T continues to demonstrate its commitment to education and developing the next generation of American leaders," said Donna Moore, Chairman the Women of AT&T Scholarship Committee. "These five young women have demonstrated that they are dedicated to their studies and their communities and will represent the mission of the Women of AT&T well as they continue their studies."

This year's recipients also include:

Breanna Baker of Little Rock — a freshman at the University of Central Arkansas in Conway. Breanna is the daughter of Bobby and Joyce Baker.

Kelly Carter of Sulphur Rock — a senior 2012 graduate of Batesville High School who plans to attend Arkansas State University in Jonesboro. Kelly is the daughter of Dwayne and Katie Carter.

Jessica Hargis of Camden — a 2012 graduate of Harmony Grove High School in Camden who plans to attend Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia. Jessica is the daughter of Leigh and Genna Hargis.

Laura Winters of Holiday Island — a 2012 graduate of Eureka Springs High School who plans to attend Lyon College in Batesville. Laura is the daughter of Tom and Nicole Winters.

The Arkansas chapter of the Women of AT&T has awarded $500 scholarships to Arkansas students since 2003. The scholarships are funded by the fundraising efforts of the organization as well as a matching grant from the AT&T Foundation.

In order to be eligible for the WOA scholarships, applicants must meet the following criteria:

Must be a female high school senior or college student working toward their first undergraduate degree who has been accepted, or plans to enroll at an accredited college or university.

Must be an Arkansas resident, or the dependent of an AT&T employee in Arkansas.

Must be sponsored by an AT&T employee.

Must have a cumulative 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale (high school graduating seniors). Current college students must have a cumulative 2.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale.

Must enroll for a minimum of 6 (six) hours if working full-time OR a minimum of 12 (twelve) hours if a full-time student.

Applications are reviewed by the Women of AT&T Scholarship Committee, which is made up of members of the organization. This year's committee was comprised of: Donna Moore, Chairman; Lisa Lake; Paige Benton; Brenda Allen; Carola Clayton; and Ramona Garvey.

2012 Women of AT&T Officers are: Evelyn Gilbert, President; Larry Bueche, VP-Programs; Cleandrea Buckley, VP-Finance; Barbara Brown, VP-Communications and Kim Byers, VP-Membership.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!