Bryant High School journalists garner honors at international convention

Front row: Charlie Hunnicutt, Kendall Butzlaff, Emily Pilcher, Sarah Snyder, Michaela Kaberline, Wil Chandler, Kayla Davidson. Second row: Grace Oxley, Sydney Hoffmans, Matt Trauschke, Gareth Patterson, Whit Pruitt.At the largest Journalism Education Association/National Scholastic Press Association convention in organization history with over 6,400 students in attendance in Washington, D.C., Nov. 12-15, Bryant High School yearbook and newspaper staff members won 12 national awards. Students won 6 first places, 3 second places and 3 third places. The convention included 2,267 total students from all the 50 states, Germany, England and Singapore that competed.[more]

Kendall Butzlaff – honorable mention in yearbook sports copy/caption writing.

Emily Pilcher – honorable mention in yearbook clubs copy/caption writing.

Sydney Hoffmans – superior in yearbook student life copy/caption writing.

Grace Oxley – superior in yearbook theme design.

Kayla Davidson – excellent in yearbook inside page design.

Sarah Snyder – excellent in literary magazine illustration.

Matt Traschke – superior in yearbook sports photography, only 3 superiors given.

Parker Pamplin – superior in newspaper sports photography, only 3 superiors given.

Wil Chandler – excellent in yearbook student life photography.

Charlie Hunnicutt – honorable mention in newspaper news/feature photography.

Whit Pruitt – superior in photo story, only 1 superior given.

Gareth Patters on – superior in photography portfolio, only 2 superiors given.

The six first places are the most for Bryant High School students to ever win and Bryant photographers placed in every photo contest.

Parker Pamplin is the first Bryant freshman to ever win an award and she won a first place.

Gareth Patterson in the first Bryant student to win a first place in national photography competition his 10th, 11th, and 12th grade years. He is a 3-peat.

In the Picture of the Year contest, Gareth Patterson won second place and honorable mention in sports action photography. Kelsey Kehrees won second place in sports reaction and honorable mention in environmental photo. Wil Chandler won honorable mention in feature photo.

In the Yearbook Design of the Year contest, Austin Esry won second place.

The Bryant High School newspaper, The Prospective, placed third place in Best of Show Special Section. Editors are Michaela Kaberline, Lindsey Blakely and Katrina Ragsdale.

Margaret Sorrows is the adviser to the high school yearbook and newspaper.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!