Hornets’ Hampton among defensive finalists for State Farm Award

LITTLE ROCK — Bryant senior lineman Josh Hampton has been named a finalist for the Class 7A/6A State Farm Awards.

The State Farm Awards honor Arkansas' top offensive player, defensive player and coach of the year[more] for each classification during a special ceremony catered by MarketPlace Grill on Monday, Dec. 13 in Little Rock.

Hampton, who led the Hornets in tackles in 2010, Searcy’s Mike Brown and Conway’s Marquez Massey are the three finalists for the Class 7A/6A defensive award.

The veteran staff at Hooten's Arkansas Football selects three finalists for each category, and those finalists are invited to attend the State Farm Awards.

State Farm's spokesman in Arkansas, Gary Stephenson, said, "We are pleased to be working with the recognized authority on Arkansas high school football, the Hootens organization. State Farm congratulates all of the finalists for this year's awards."

The finalists for the award on offense are Fayetteville’s Brandon Allen, Springdale Har-Ber’s Ryan Luther and El Dorado’s Taylor Reed.

Coaching finalists are Van Buren’s Mike Lee, Bentonville’s Barry Lunney Sr., and El Dorado’s Scott Reed.

In addition, former Bryant offensive coordinator Jared McBride, now the head coach at Hot Springs Lakeside, is among the finalists for the coaching award in Class 5A, after leading the Rams to a 7-4 season and a berth in the 5A playoffs.

State Farm has a strong, long-standing commitment to supporting education and community involvement and is proud to honor Arkansas' finest young athletes.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!