Addition to SRO program will help cover elementary campuses

By Jamie Miller

The City of Bryant and the Bryant School Board recently put the School Resource Officer program[more] back in place throughout the Bryant District when Mayor Jill Dabbs first took office. The initial staff that was assigned to the schools was allocated to cover all campuses. It has been determined that an additional officer is necessary to cover the elementary campuses and, at the March meeting of the Board, the members endorsed the plan with their approval.

A certified officer is currently stationed at both middle schools in the District as well as at the high school campus. The need was seen for another officer at the elementary schools to work on prevention and disciplinary problems. According to Superintendent Randy Rutherford, the goal is to eventually have eight officers throughout the district.

It was announced at the meeting that Salem Elementary School has been recognized by the State Department of Education as a nominee for the Blue Ribbon Schools Program. A National Department of Education Award, it is based on standardized tests scores. Salem was deemed a high performance school due to tests scores in the top 10 percent nationally. The application has been completed and submitted and the decision will be made in September as to whether or not Salem will receive the award.

The 2013-14 school calendar was approved 7-0 by the Board. The calendar is almost identical to the 2012-13 school year minus a few changes including the move of spring break to a week later next year.

Bryant High School has a Robotics Team, which recently competed in a state competition and earned the Excellence Award in the VEX Robotics Competition sponsored by Arkansas Tech University. Not only did the team make school history in receiving the award, they are the first and only team to qualify to represent Arkansas at the World Vex Championship Competition in Anaheim, Calif., in April.

Several teachers were also recognized for becoming National Board Certified Teachers. Kori Kordsmeier, Diana Lewis, Brenda Qualls, Robbie Rutherford, Marla Smith, and Julie White were all present to receive recognition for their accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!