Bryant swimmers, divers make top 10 in five State events

Caleb ThomasFAYETTEVILLE — The Bryant High School swim team produced five top 10 finishes including two season-beat performances and recorded three other season-best times at the 2010 State swimming and diving championship held at the University of Arkansas over the weekend.

Jinson Kang had the top finish with a fourth place in the 100 butterfly. She finished in 1:03.05. Justine Tazelaar took fifth in the 100 backstroke in a personal best time of 1:04.41.

Kang also took seventh in the 200 free with a time of 2:05.78 to account for a second top-10 finish.[more]

For the boys, Caleb Thomas had the highest finish with a sixth in the diving competition. Teammate Brennan Bullock was 11th.

Dylan Machycek’s personal best time of 1:00.55 in the backstroke earned an eighth place finish to complete the top 10 performances.

In addition, the Hornets’ 400 free relay team of Machycek, Jordan Combs, Andrew Dull and Kyle Douglas produced a season best time by 10 full seconds when they turned in a 3:49.83 to finish 11th.

The 400 medley relay quartet of Machycek, Douglas, Combs and Jesse Wolf also compiled its best time. The 1:55.70 clocking garnered a 12th place finish.

Brennan Bullock

Douglas recorded a personal best as well. In the breast stroke, he finished 17th in a time of 1:10.46.

The Lady Hornets’ 400 free relay would’ve had a new season best by 10 seconds, according to head coach Angel Dale, but because one swimmer left early during an exchange, they were disqualified.

Tazelaar, individually, added a 15th place finish in the 200 individual medley with a time of 2:33.87.

In the other relays, the foursome of Tazelaar, Jordan Martin, Kang and Erin Moser finished 11th in a time of 2:10.81 in the 200 medley. In the 200 free, Martin, Tazelaar, Amanda Butler and Moser was 16th in 1:57.96.

As a team, the Lady Hornets finished 13th while the Hornets were 14th.

"We had an awesome season," stated Dale. "I'm very proud of my swimmers."

Bentonville edged Little Rock Catholic by a point to win the boys title. Conway was third.

Bentonville easily captured the girls title with Fayetteville a distant second followed by Conway.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!