Bombsquad captured third consecutive District tourney crown

Bombsquad of Bryant won its third consecutive 12-and-under District 9 title, outscoring their opponents 14-1 at the tournament held at Tyndall Park and Alcoa 40 last weekend.

Team members include Sierra jones, Emma Rhodes, Julie Ward, Coach Pat Ward, Anna Turpin, Shayla McKissock, Coach Todd Herbner, Miranda Mayfield, Bayli Estridge, Coach Mike Pendergrass, Bailey Balisterri, Caitlyn Long, Presli Pendergrass and Jordan Herbner.[more]

The team won its first game 3-0 against the Sardis Outlaws. Ward pitched the first 2 1/2 innings, striking out four batters and walking five. Turpin closed the game by retiring six of the last eight batters. Ward, Jones and Long had one RBI each. Presli Pendergrass was hit by a pitch and ended up stealing home.

In the second game against Benton Ladybacks, Turpin pitched the entire game striking out three batters and walking two. Jones hit a triple driving in Balisterri and Rhodes, then stole home for the third run. Bombsquad won 3-1.

In the championship game, Turpin struck out five and walked only one. Ward, Herbner, and Mayfield each had an RBI while Balisterri knocked in a pair. Several other girls got on base and scored including Pendergrass, Jones, Turpin, Estridge and McKissock.

“Every member of the Bombsquad team contributed in this tournament, getting on base and scoring runs when they were most needed,” said a team spokesman.

Defensively, they had only two errors in three games.

The team will advance to the State tournament.


  1. Kathy Turpin

    Way to go Girls, I am so proud of your hard work. I am sharing my niece’s comment-it gave me a chuckle-KatT:)

    From Rebekah Turpin-Coker
    Yay to Anna-Banana and the Bombsquad!!!!!!
    Are you sure they aren’t professional athletes?
    They have a spokesperson. 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!