Little Rockers Marathon will include Springhill Elementary students

By Martin Couch

Several Springhill Elementary School students have completed[more] their early registration for the Little Rockers Marathon, that is slated for March 5, by qualifying at a track marked off on the Springhill playground.

“Students come to the area (track) during their recess and run laps,” sponsor Angel Dale said. “Their mileage was marked by an adult volunteer and then calculated at the end of the day.”

Eight laps equaled one mile. Laps were marked and counted.

“We keep big posters in the gym with each student’s cumulative mileage,” Dale said. “We started at the beginning of November and any student that had at least 10 miles in by Jan. 15 was eligible for early registration and a $10 scholarship.”

The total cost for early registration is $25. Students who register early are also guaranteed a Marathon T-shirt in their size. Students must log 25 miles before the marathon.

“They will run one mile at the Little Rockers Kids Marathon,” Dale said. “We may end up with more runners who register late if they complete the mileage. They will not be awarded a scholarship and will have to pay $35 late registration fee. The fee went up Feb. 1, and they will have no guarantee of marathon shirt size. These students will have to register online at home.”

For more information, logon to the website with more information:

“A special thanks to all the volunteers that made this possible by counting mileage on the playground,” said Dale, who partners with Michelle Adams, another sponsor of the event. “A special thanks to Gary Adams for measuring and marking the track.”

Students who have already qualified are Mallory Adams, Cameron Apel, Hunter Apel, Madeline Bennett, Matthew Bennett, Anna Brown, Megan Brown, Summer Brown, Carissa Colclasure, Jillian Colclasure, Noah Davis, Alexandria Ellis, Jacob Eubanks, Seth Eubanks, Luke Flowers, Paige Fuhrman, Christopher Fuller, Tyler Glover, Will Graves, Hannah Henderson, Alyssa Hood, Wyatt Hoyt, Gabriel Stewart, Ethan Ives, Jackson James, Libby Majors, Ayla Minton, Ellie Minton, Maggie Murray, Taelor Parrish, Caleb Redam, Chapman Redam, Ella Reynolds, Austin Schroeder, Abby Short, Alex Short, Matthew Short, Leah Sikes, Kevin Small, Bret Smith, Oscar Smith, Kolby Stoll, Cheran Taylor, Will Taylor, Brittany Warner, Kaycee White, and Meagan Quijano.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!